Clare 2-11 Down 0-11

Clare are settling in well to the second division of the Allianz Football League, having drawn away to Derry last week, the Banner County easily accounted for Down in bitterly cold conditions.

Given the wintry weather only 1,749 turned out at Cusack Park, including a number of travelling Down supporters to see goals from Shane Brennan and David Tubridy proving the difference between the sides.

Down football continues to be in the doldrums as this was their ninth league defeat on the trot.

The majority of Clare’s scores came in the first half when they played with the wind at their backs to lead by 2-07 to 0-03 at the interval.

Shane Brennan’s shot goes to the net for Clare’s first goal. National Football League Div 2 Rd 2 at Cusack Park Ennis on February 12, 2017. Photo by Eugene McCafferty

Shane Brennan’s goal came early, in the second minute, after David Tubridy’s effort was blocked. Tubridy’s goal came in injury time when he received a pass from Keelan Sexton before blasting to the net.

Down made somewhat of a comeback in the second half and outscored the home side by 0-08 to 0-01 to put a better gloss on the scoreboard. They were helped by the fact that Clare manager Colm Collins called Gary Brennan and David Tubridy aside early in the half, although main scorer Tubridy seemed disappointed to be called off early.

Clare: Joe Hayes; Dean Ryan, Kevin Harnett, Martin McMahon; Liam Markham, Gordon Kelly, John Hayes; Gary Brennan, Ciaran Russell; Sean Collins (0-1), Keelan Sexton (0-1), Shane Brennan (1-0); Eoin Cleary (0-3, 0-1f), David Tubridy (1-3), Jamie Malone (0-3).

Subs: Cathal O’Connor for G. Brennan, Darren Nagle for Hayes, Cian O’Dea for Tubridy, Pearse Lillis for Ryan, David Egan for Malone, Gearoid O’Brien for Collins.

Down: Marc Reid; Ryan McAleenan, Gerard McGovern, Darren O’Hagan (0-1); Conaill McGovern, Niall Donnelly, Caolan Mooney; Aidan Carr (0-01), Jonathan Flynn; Joe Murphy, Cathal Magee (0-3, 0-2f), Shay Millar (0-1); Alan Davidson, Pat Havern (0-1), Barry O’Hagan (0-2, 0-1f)

Subs: Darragh O’Hanlon for C. McGovern, Conor Maginn for Davidson, Kevin McKernan for Havern, Ryan Johnston (0-2) for G. McGovern, Jerome Johnston for B. O’Hagan, Peter Turley for Flynn.

Referee: Noel Mooney (Cavan)