CLG Cora Chaitlin held one of the best attended annual general meetings in the club’s recent history where a wide range of views on how to progress came from the floor as members of Newmarket-on-Fergus GAA both young and old, male and female had their say.

Minutes of the 2015 AGM were read by secretary Pat Keogh. In his secretary’s report Pat thanked everyone for their support, gave a rundown of the various team campaigns, praised the voluntary effort within the club, and highlighted the successful Schools Coaching Programme. Pat also paid his respects to bereaved families over the past twelve months and also acknowledged the success of Eoin Hayes and Stephen Kelly in lining out for Ireland in the UEFA Regions Cup.

Outlining the financial situation, treasurer Jimmy Clancy stressed the importance of fundraising campaigns and touched on areas where the club can improve and alleviate costs across the board. PRO Páraic McMahon reported that the club has continued to build on its social media audiences and noted the success in attracting a large following on Clubify while also receiving plenty of hits from all over the world on For the second year in succession Tradraí has brought in profit for the club. Páraic also congratulated James McInerney on his poc fada exploits, Rory McGann on refereeing his first senior hurling final and Aaron Moroney’s charitable act of wearing a tutu during an U11 hurling game.

In his address, chairperson Freddy McInerney described the year as “more of a rollercoaster than a walk in the park”. He said numbers attending underage sessions are at an all-time high. McInerney acknowledged the exploits of the Junior B hurlers in collecting a league title and spoke of his desire for more success across the board in 2017. He thanked all sponsors for their backing throughout 2016 and paid tribute to lotto sellers and volunteers for their efforts. Freddy concluded by appealing for more volunteers to get involved with the club going forward.

Changes were announced to the club executive in the election of officers. Pat Keogh, Bob Enright, Siobhán Marren, Derek Clancy and Kevin Enright stepped down from their respective positions while Seanie McMahon, Kenneth Arthur, Diarmuid O’Leary and Damien Hogan have taken up roles with the club for the year ahead. Club president Pat Halpin took the floor towards the end of what he described as “a fine meeting”. He referenced his first AGM decades ago and said he hadn’t seen such a turnout in all his years attending. Diarmuid O’Leary called on everyone to drive on together for the good of the club and asked for individuals interested in getting involved with coaching teams to get in touch.

CLG Cora Chaitlin Club Officers:

Patrons: Canon Reuben Butler & Fr Tom Fitzpatrick
Presidents: Buddy McMahon & Pat Halpin
Chairman: Freddy McInerney
Vice Chairman: Seanie McMahon
Secretary: Concepta O’Connor
Asst Secretary: Kenneth Arthur
Treasurer: Jimmy Clancy
PRO: Páraic McMahon
Chairman Bord na nÓg: Diarmuid O’Leary
Secretary Bord na nÓg: Brendan Ryan
Field Maintenance Officer: Cathal Conway
Park Development Officer: Damien Hogan
County Board Delegate: Pat Corry
Scór: Siobhán Conway
Chairperson Camogie Club: Marie Louise Kaiser
Chairperson Ladies Football Club: Carol O’Leary
Child Protection Officer: Sinead Burke-Keogh.