Shannon youth worker Jessie Harty has featured among those who received Clare Garda Divisional Awards at a ceremony held before 300 guests in Treacys West County Hotel, Ennis.

Jessie has been with the Clare Youth Service since 2013 when she joined her local youth club and youth care committee in Rineanna Hall, Shannon. She now holds a leadership role in the Youth Service helping out with her peer group during the school term.

Guest speaker at the event, John Burke, who scaled Everest this year, said the winners had shown a great example to others. “We all need wins in our lives, events or achievements that tell us we have an inner strength that can enable us to go beyond where perhaps we might not have thought we can go.

“All of these winners have shown that. You will not forget this night and whatever it is that you have achieved, it will stand the test of time.”

Chief Superintendent John Kerin of the Clare Garda Division commented, “We are three years into these awards and are once again reminded of the outstanding calibre of young people in our county.  We congratulate all on their achievements.”

The annual Youth Awards are sponsored by Shannon Airport, speaking at the ceremony Shannon Group chairperson Rose Hynes said they shed a light on the caring and civic nature of these young people.

“The award winners may not today realise it but awards like these differentiate them from other young people.

“Down the line, when you apply for a job or for further education, an award like this could be the stand-out piece that makes a statement about this young person.

“It says that this person goes the extra mile. It says that this person has leadership potential, character; that this person has taken on the biggest challenge possible and is self-motivated. Above all else, it says that this person is an achiever.”

The awards recognise outstanding young people for leadership in their community and for overcoming challenges. As well as Jessie Harty, other award winners were Saoirse Lightbourne from Inagh, Lilly Keane (Lissycasey), Joseph Miniter (Kilrush), Leah McInerney (Scarriff), Aoife Duggan (Ennis), Young S.V.P. (St. Joseph’s Secondary School, Spanish Point), finally Diarmuid King and Caoilfhionn O’Dea (St. Joseph’s Secondary School, Spanish Point).