Kilmaley hopes to better the efforts of Wolfe Tones by going all the way in the intermediate hurling championship after defeating Murroe Boher by 1-20 to 0-22 after extra time in Cusack Park at the weekend in the Munster quarter-final.

Clare Intermediate Hurling Championship FinalKilmaley 2-20 Tubber 0-11

Prior to that Kilmaley rounded off this year’s Clare championship with no real surprise as they romped home against luckless Tubber. On the day Kilmaley were odds-on to regain senior status against on probably the smallest club side in the county.  Kilmaley’s main objective was to run Tubber ragged in the early stages and ease home in the last quarter.

John Fawle blocks Ken Kennedy’s shot.

John Fawle blocks Ken Kennedy’s shot.

After racing into an early lead through Cian Moloney, by the end of the opening quarter, Kilmaley led by 0-6 to a single point from Domhnall McMahon. Tubber rallied somewhat between the 20th and 28th minutes with scores from Blaine Earley to cut the deficit to 0-8 to 0-4.

Kilmaley upped their efforts with a Michael O’Malley point and a fine goal from 19-year-old Sean O’Loughlin just before half-time to lead by 1-9 to 0-4 at the interval.

Tubber had been mortally wounded. They found themselves contained in their own half and simply could not break past the Kilmaley half-back line despite Clive Earley and John Fawle’s best efforts. Kilmaley stretched the lead to 11 with points from Daire Keane, Michael O’Malley and Cian Moloney.

To their credit, Tubber battled on and managed a succession of last quarter scores. As the game entered the final 13 minutes Kilmaley were ahead by 1-17 to 0-7.  Kilmaley veteran Alan Markham entered the fray and eased through two Tubber challenges before scoring his side’s second goal as the game entered injury time.

Best for the winners were Colin McGuane, Aidan McGuane, Eoin Enright, Conor Cleary, Sean Kennedy, Daire Keane, Michael O’Malley, Sean O’Loughlin, Cian Moloney and Eamonn Bracken.  For Tubber, their best included Clive Earley, John Fawle, Pat O’Connor, Fergal O’Grady and the tireless Blaine Earley.

After the game, Clare County Board chairman Joe Cooney presented the Paddy Browne Memorial Cup to Kilmaley captain Colin McGuane.

KILMALEY: Bryan O’Loughlin, Martin O’Connor, Colin McGuane, Eoin Enright, Conor McMahon, Conor Cleary, Sean Kennedy, Michael O’Malley (0-3),  Aidan McGuane (0-2), Ken Kennedy, Sean O’Loughlin (1-2),  Brian Cahill, Cian Moloney (0-7), Daire Keane (0-4), Eamon Bracken (0-2). Subs: Padraic McNamara for Cahill, Conor Neylon for McMahon, Alan Markham (1-0) for O’Loughlin, Sean Talty for O’Connor,  Noel Casey for McGuane,

TUBBER: Ronan Taaffe (0-2), John O’Connor, Mark Earley, Declan Ryan, Fergal O’Grady, Patrick O’Connor (0-2), Lorcan O’Grady, Clive Earley, John Fawle (0-1), James Howard, Domhnall McMahon (0-2), David O’Donoghue, Frank McCormack, Ronan Monahan, Blaine Earley (0-4). Subs: Shane O’Connor for O Donoghue, Evan O’Donoghue for Howard, Justin  McMahon for Monahan, James Taaffe for McCormack, Emmet Quinn for O’Connor.

Referee: Niall O’Brien (O’Callaghans Mills).