When Shannon Olympic and Shannon Town met at Frank Healy Park on Saturday evening for this third division final, the only thing certain was that the cup was going to Shannon.

Clare League – Third Division League Cup FinalShannon Olympic ‘B’ 4 Shannon Town ‘C’ 4 (Shannon Town won 3-1 on penalties AET)

In the end, the sides were inseparable on 4-4 after extra time and it took penalties to see the silverware going the way of Shannon Olympic. It was their rivals, Shannon Town, who got off to a good start, taking the lead with a close-range goal from Kai Khetan.

Olympic soon settled into the game and were rewarded with an equaliser when Paddy Twomey hit the net from the 18-yard line. The winners dominated possession and added to their tally when Dylan Kerr picked out Eric Ogrin who made no mistake guiding the ball to the top corner.

Shortly before halftime Olympic were euphoric when Adam Harrington got on the end of a Karl Scott cross to head the ball past Alan Linton in the Town goal. The sides went into the break with Olympic leading by 3-1.

Shannon Olympic ‘B’ celebrate their 3rd Division League Cup victory over local rivals Shannon Town

Shannon Olympic ‘B’ celebrate their 3rd Division League Cup victory over local rivals Shannon Town

The half-time pep talk stirred Town into action as they launched a second-half offensive and soon reduced the deficit with a well-merited Niall George goal to make it 3-2. With their tails up it wasn’t long before Town got back on level terms thanks to a great finish from James Ryan.

The final minutes of normal time produced some great drama when Shane Mullaney found the net to give Shannon Town a 4-3 advantage. With only seconds remaining, Olympic somehow managed to draw level when Town were penalised and Karl Scott kept a cool head to slot home past Alan Linton forcing extra time.

Neither side could make the breakthrough in extra time, so the outcome was decided by a penalty shoot-out. Shannon Olympic goalkeeper Gary McGettrick saved the day for his team when he stopped Town’s first three penalty kicks.

Substitute Andy Shanaher scored the all important winner to the delight of the travelling support and the Clare League’s Third Division League Cup now rests with Shannon Olympic.

Shannon Olympic B: Gary McGettrick, Conor Neville, Dean Courtney, Eddie Dunne, Karl Scott, Dylan Kerr, Ian Hogan, Ross O’Connor, Adam Harrington, Paddy Twomey, Eric Ogrin. Subs: Terry O’Donnell for Neville, David Cuddihy for Kerr, Rachid Amallah for O’Connor and Andy Shanagher for Harrington.

Shannon Town C: Alan Linton, Calum Keely, Natty Nyakujara, Daniel Clair, Shane Mullaney, Bryan O’Donoghue, Kai Khetan, Damien Alford, Niall George, Damien Haugh, Aaron O’Mara. Subs: Blaine O’Sullivan for O’Mara, James Ryan for George, John Foster for Alford, Robbie Waller for Haugh and Stephen Phillips for Keely.