St Senan's U13s winners of the Fleming Trophy

St Senan’s U13s winners of the Fleming Trophy

St Senan’s under 13 players celebrated a first underage trophy for the club with a hard fought win against the Newport/Ballina-Killaloe amalgamation on Sunday.

St Senans RFC 22 Newport/ Ballina-Killaloe 17: North Munster U13 Conference League Final

By Robbie Hoban

On a beautiful Mother’s Day morning St Senan’s U13s made their way to UL Bohs grounds for their league final. From the kick off St Senan’s forwards took the on the opposition pack, this allowed the backs some space for speedy winger Brian Murphy to race into the corner for a quick opening try.

The opposition didn’t take it lying down and scored a converted try. On the day the battle up front between both sets of forwards was immense. After some quick ball out half Craig Riordan raced through a gap before passing the ball out to Gavin Carrig. With the full back to beat, he showed some great footwork to get over the line.

The second half began just like the first with the Senan’s forwards taking the game to their opponents. After a few phases of play, tight-head prop Joey O’Donoghue burst through taking 3 or 4 players over the line with him to score a super try. However the amalgamated Newport/Ballina-Killaloe were not yet finished and their big tight head getting over for a try of his own.

For most of the of the second half both defences wwere dominant until Brian Murphy found a chink in the opposition armour to score. Craig Riordan slotted the conversion through the posts from a difficult angle. With 4 minutes remaining the amalgamation scored a try from close range.

It took great defensive work by the young Saints to get them to the final whistle as deserved winners. While the club has enjoyed success before with amalgamated teams, this was the first win for a St Senan’s only underage youths team. Well done to all involved as it was truly a squad effort.

St Senan’s: Joey O’Donoghue, Brian Morrissey (capt), Rob Walker, Cathal Egan, Eric Ng, Rob Hanton, Jamie Cooney, Adam Enright, Steven Mc Nally, Mark Mc Nally, Dylan O’Brien, Craig Riordan, Aaron Kelly, Kevin Kelly, Gavin Carrig, AJ O’Loughlin, Brian Murphy and Adam Murphy Black. Coaches – Tony O’Brien, James Ryan and Mick O’Donoghue.