St Senan’s AGM opened on a sombre note this year when outgoing president Jody O’Donoghue called for a minute’s silence in memory of underage player Conor Wilmot whose tragic death occurred one week previous.

Calling the agm to order, on Wednesday 17th May in the Goalpost Bar, honorary secretary Padraig Rowe read the minutes of last year’s meeting and proceeded to give his report. Padraig outlined the performance of the club’s first team over a season when they won seven of their 18 games and finished 9th in the Munster Junior League Division One and exited all cup competitions in the early stages. Anthony Martin provided the report on the underage section. He spoke of the great success enjoyed by the under 13s in bringing home the club’s very first underage trophy Anthony also commented on how close the under 14’s came to success.

Overall the view from the underage side of the club is very positive and it is expected that there will be good players coming through to ensure the future of the club. Current club captain Fearghal Lawlor emphasised the importance of the underage section to the club and stressed the need to be involved with local schools in order to develop the game and help solidify the future of the club.

Treasurer Michelle Grimes outlined the club finances, with special emphasis on the 300 club and ongoing fundraising events held during the year. Without these, said Michelle, St Senan’s would not survive.

In his final speech as president, Jody O’Donoghue thanked his committee and officers for their assistance during his time in office. Jody believes that St Senan’s is in a good place right now and encouraged all members to help in driving the club forward over the coming years to build on the enormous groundwork that has been completed by his committee.

Finally came the election of a new officer board and club president. History was made when, for the first time, Derek Clancy followed in his late father’s footsteps to became president of St Senan’s. Derek was elected unopposed as President for 2017/18 season. Sadly, his father Tom, a founding member and former club president passed away last year.

This year’s annual general meeting was well attended by both members and players, something which was welcomed by all. Following a discussion under AOB the meeting was concluded by Padraig Rowe.

St Senan’s Officers and Committee 2017/18

President: Derek Clancy Treasurer: Cathal MacCormaic Fixture Secretary: Tom McLoughlin Honorary Secretary: Padraig Rowe Minis Co-ordinator: Emma Dillon Youths Fixture Secretary: Hugh Corcoran Ticket Secretary: Ray Divinney: Youth Development Officer: TBA PRO: Robbie Hoban and Derek Byrnes Committee: Jody O’Donoghue, Rick McCoy, Daragh McCoy, Lisa Fitzgerald, Gill Grime, Emily Cahill, John Elsley, Declan Collins, Brian Punch.